THE PROMOTIONAL TOUR 1976

Press conference

At the Sydney press conference

ITINERARY

Thursday 4 March

Arrive at Sydney Airport

Friday 5 March

Press conference & gold record presentation, radio/TV interviews: Sydney Hilton Hotel

Photo session at Sydney Opera House

Interview and ‘Fernando’ clip shown on A Current Affair

Saturday 6 March

Cruise on Hawkesbury River, barbecue lunch and boomerang throwing; visit to Koala Sanctuary at Bobbin Head.

Scenes filmed for the overseas version of the television special.

Hawkesbury River

Cruising on the Hawkesbury River

Sunday 7 March

Escorted drive around eastern suburbs of Sydney; cruise on Sydney Harbour.

Scenes filmed for the overseas version of the television special

Monday 8 March

‘Fernando’ single released

Travel to Melbourne

Rehearsal and appearance on The Don Lane Show - performed 'SOS' and ‘Fernando’

The Done Lane Show

Fernando

Tuesday 9 March

Taping of ABBA’s appearance on the television programme Bandstand, performing Mamma Mia and interview by host Daryl Sommers.

Return to Sydney

Wednesday 10 March

Taping of ABBA’s appearance on the television game show Celebrity Squares

Thursday 11 March/Friday 12 March

Taping of television special The Best Of ABBA in front of studio audience; also taping of special performance of Dancing Queen, at Channel 9 Studios, Artarmon

Waterloo

Waterloo

Saturday 13 March

Depart Sydney

‘Mamma Mia’ performance shown on Bandstand in some capital cities

Sunday 14 March

Arrive in Sweden

Week of 15-19 March

Appearance on Celebrity Squares broadcast over three days.

Saturday 20 March

Special The Best Of ABBA first broadcast in capital cities; ‘Mamma Mia’ performance shown on Bandstand in some regional centres

ABBA with Daryl Somers

ABBA with Bandstand host Daryl Somers

Saturday 27 March

Special The Best Of ABBA first broadcast in regional centres

Saturday 21 August

‘Dancing Queen’ clip filmed in Sydney first shown on Bandstand in some capital cities

Saturday 28 August

‘Dancing Queen’ clip filmed in Sydney first shown on Bandstand in some regional centres

Go to:

The Promotional Tour
The Best Of ABBA (Bandstand special)
ABBA In Australia (overseas TV special)
TV Special Credits
Other Television Appearances
1976 Tour Gallery

©1999 by Ian Cole, Sydney Australia